Bomber Friday: Peanut Butter Milk Stout

It’s Friday, so grab your favorite six-pack on the way home from work or enjoy a new beer. Bombers are 22 fl oz bottles of beer that often contain a brewery’s elite or unique concoction. Like a good bottle of wine, they are great for sharing and sipping πŸ™‚ Stay tuned for periodic blasts of bomber Fridays.

IMG_0450

Before delving into this delicious beer, I need to rant. People make fun of Coloradans for not being able to handle a little rain and I will totally admit that we can’t! When you grow up with sunny days year round, not a lot of rain, sunny days after a huge snow fall- and did I mention lots of sunny days?- you get used to this weather and well, spoiled! I cannot recall the last full day of sunshine and the weather forecast does not foresee an end to this madness! Though I love a lazy day where snuggling up with a book is the best option, I am sick of reading books (just kidding! πŸ˜› ). One of the positives out of all this weather is I have been continuing to drinking lots of dark beer to comfort me and this Peanut Butter flavored Milk Stout is quite the comfort πŸ˜€

This stout is brewed by Belching Beaver Brewery (CA). Yes, that is its name and I love it too! It is fun to say πŸ™‚ Belching Beaver has only been around since 2012. They won a silver medal in the world beer championships 2014 for this beer. In the aroma, chocolate really comes through. It has a very sweet smell. Then coffee and peanut butter develop more in the taste along with chocolate. The peanut butter is very subtle. It is not as strong as I thought it would be. It is more of a light nutty hint. The coffee and really all the flavors are subtle and not overpowering. The addition of lactose makes it a creamy and smooth beer. It comes in at 5.3% ABV and is a very drinkable stout. It is definitely a dessert beer but the flavors are not overwhelming and the body is not too heavy. They suggest pouring it over ice cream- Yum!

IMG_0083

What they say:

Belching Beaver Brewery’s Peanut Butter Stout. Fell free to use it in ice cream floats. We made this beer for fun and it’s a local favorite. So we thought, “May as well bottle some”. This beer says even hard-working Beavers can play around once in a while. We hope you love it, too. If you do, let us know on facebook. If you don’t, call Troy directly and tell him. His head is getting a little big around the brew pad, anyway.

This beer is refreshingly smooth, tasting of roasted coffee, chocolate and peanut butter. Brewed with rolled oats and lactose, this beer has a silky-smooth mouth-feel finish.

Don’t let the color fool you. This dark beer is easy-drinking.

More To Love:

Imperial Dark Rye and Juicy Burger

Rye Beer and Burger

Campfire Stout

Campfire Stout

Breakfast Stout

Breakfast Stout

Old Rasputin Russian Stout

Old Rasputin Russian Stout

13 responses to “Bomber Friday: Peanut Butter Milk Stout

  1. Sound like a great beer! But for some reason I’m imagining/tasting hazelnut spread. IDK.

    • ha ha that would be a delicious beer! I love me some Nutella. Has anyone done that? I guess it is definitely similar to that…supposedly if you pour it over the ice cream it brings out more of the peanut butter flavor. I am going to try it when I get another bottle!

  2. Oh my gosh what. This beer sounds like MY DREAM. Peanut butter? Chocolate? Coffee? PERFECT OVER ICE CREAM!?! Ahhhh COME TO TEXAS (and into my hand!)!!

    • ha ha! Hi Erika! Sorry, for my two month delayed response! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! It is such a delicious beer but I think you might have trouble finding in Texas :-/ I don’t think it even distributes here yet 😦

  3. Lilly Sue I don’t drink beer but I tell you, I just might convert! I’ve been reading your blog for years now and love your recipes and how you write! Beer companies all over should hire you to describe their beer! My son just got back from Poland and raved about their beer there. Excellent post. I’m going to look for this beer and try it! Have a wonderful weekend! πŸ™‚ Koko

    • Hey Koko- sorry for my slooowww response! Thank you for your sweet comment πŸ™‚ Do you not drink beer because of the taste or just no interest? Typically if it is just the taste there is usually a beer to be found that you’ll like. With all the craft beer there are so many different flavors and styles. It makes writing a lot of fun! πŸ™‚ Did you ever find/try this beer?

Comments make me :D

