Bomber Friday: Imperial Pumpkin

It’s Friday, so grab your favorite six-pack on the way home from work or enjoy a new beer. Bombers are 22 fl oz bottles of beer that often contain a brewery’s elite or unique concoction. Like a good bottle of wine, they are great for sharing and sipping πŸ™‚ Stay tuned for periodic blasts of bomber Fridays.

 photo P9262707_zpsc931f582.jpg

It is Pumpkin Beer time!!! Fall is one of my favorite seasons and pumpkin beer may just have something to do with it πŸ™‚ I love when I start to see them on the shelves- all the orange colors, pumpkins and spooky labels that spark my interest!

Imperial Pumpkin by Dry Dock Brewing Company is a tasty pumpkin beer. The smell tickles your nose with sweet pumpkin and a little spice. Dry Dock describes it as autumn in a glass. Real pumpkin is added to this beer to give it a pleasant taste of actual pumpkin and then spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger are added to make this a delicious pumpkin ale.

 photo P9222642_zps553c9a7c.jpg

Pumpkin Pancakes with Pecan Caramel Sauce

This imperial pumpkin ale is 9% ABV. It is a pricier bomber but find someone to share it with on a cool evening- like today!! πŸ˜€ Happy Friday!

Music For Your Ears:

~Breezeblocks by alt-J

More To Love:

Roots Revival

Roots Revival

The Lost Abbey

The Lost Abbey

Farmhouse Ales

Farmhouse Ales

La Fin Du Monde

La Fin Du Monde

26 responses to “Bomber Friday: Imperial Pumpkin

  1. Pingback: Test Trial Pumpkin Beer Cookies | Lilly Sue's Bites and Brews·

  2. I really like the label! If all goes right I will get to try a Pumpkin Saison sometime this weekend, from a new local brewer. What are your general thoughts on pumpkin beers? If Saranac brewery is available up there I recommend their version. Plus you get a niffty 32oz growler.

    • I think pumpkin beers are hit or miss. There are a lot that are just meh and then others with more full body flavor. If you can’t taste the spices and pumpkin then I don’t feel it’s a pumpkin beer. I had the full tilt pumpkin while in Baltimore- that one had exciting flavor. It was much more flavorful than most pumpkin beers I have had. At GABF there was this sweet potato beer that tasted like pumpkin pie. It was very nice and the flavors came through without being too intense or heavy. Pumpkin saison sounds fun!! Let me know how it tastes.

      • Sadly they ran out, at the event at least. If I have time I might swing by the brewery itself. I’m pretty much the same way with pumpkin beers, it’s very hit or miss. I like a vanilla-pumpkin pie flavor, I think there is a pumpkin filling in a can that taste like it. I’m not very big on pumpkin flavored anything, so it’s a slippery slope.
        Do you remember which beer you tried in Baltimore? How was the trip?

      • As soon as I get a chance (hopefully for tomorrow), I am going to write a little review of the beers I tried and such. It was a fun trip!

  3. I’ve never actually had a pumpkin ale, but feel that I should try one! It isn’t something that’s particularly popular in the UK, but I’m in LA for the next few days. Is there one in particular that you’d recommend?

      • Sadly, I couldn’t get either of these, but after some discussion I settled on the pumpkin ale from the Bootlegger’s Brewery (Fullerton, CA). I’m actually quite surprised but I really enjoyed it! Great suggestion. Thanks.

Comments make me :D

