Wacky Waffles

Sunday always seems to be the perfect day to make waffles. It is my weekend treat…and I don’t feel bad about it, especially if I make it to 8:30 yoga class (which I didn’t this morning! :-/). Anyways, this is a fun recipe that has a few modifications if you don’t have these exact ingredients on hand…

Ingredients:

1 1/4 c. cake flour
2 t. baking powder
1/4 c. sugar
4 eggs
salt
1 1/2 c. milk
1/2 c. (8 T) butter, melted

In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. I don’t really measure salt, a couple pinches are perfect or about a 1/2 t. Next separate the yolk from the egg whites. The egg whites will then need to be beaten with a hand mixer in a small bowl. Egg whites should be beaten until they form peaks…for those that don’t know what that is, stop the mixer, lift up and if it looks like little peaks have formed you are perfect!

Next, mix the egg yolks, milk, and melted butter with the dry ingredients. Fold in the egg whites to complete the waffle batter. Now for the wacky part…it is very common for me to not have syrup at my house or forget to grab it at the store but I have found there are many great options that can usually be found in your fridge! Starting with the batter…adding mini chocolate chips or cinnamon makes the waffles delicious and you really only need to add butter.

Other Waffle Options:

  • Cream cheese and cinnamon sugar
  • Cream cheese and jelly
  • Nutella
  • Butter or cream cheese on the chocolate chip waffles
  • Butter or cream cheese on the cinnamon waffles

Another option is using frozen fruit to make a sauce for your waffles. One morning I combined frozen blueberries, milk, and raspberry lemonade in the blender. It made a very yummy sauce! I would have added orange juice or regular lemonade if that had been in my fridge. Agave or honey can be added as well to give more of a syrup flavor.

Modifications:

Cake flour makes waffles fluffy but using regular flour makes them just as delicious. This morning I did a combination of wheat flour (3/4 c.) and unbleached flour (1/2 c.). They turned out very yummy and I might even like them better…wheat flour gives a nice flavor, texture and it makes your Sunday treat a little healthier 🙂

Buttermilk is great in waffles but for many it is not a common kitchen item. Whole milk would be the next best option but if you are like me you may not drink that kind of milk…if you are using 1% or 2% milk, I would add some half and half or heavy whipping cream if you have it. If not, try adding less milk…just add enough to obtain the desired consistency.

Comments make me :D

